The Athens-Clarke County Democrats promote progressive, Democratic values and work toward electing Democratic candidates in our County and throughout Georgia. We recruit and train candidates for office, educate voters on important state and local policies and legislation, and above all, serve our community.

The Athens-Clarke County Democratic Committee (ACCDC) is the official local organizing body of the Democratic Party of Georgia. The ACCDC traditionally meets on the fourth Thursday of each month.  The meetings are open to the public, and all are invited to attend.

ACC Democratic Committee Members

The ACCDC comprises seventy voting members and an unlimited number of party members. Voting members are elected to four-year terms with half of the voting membership up for election every two years. Athens residents may submit a self-nomination form if interested in joining the Committee. 

You may view the current ACCDC roster here.

ACCDC Committees

We also maintain six standing subcommittees: Candidate Development, Communications, Community Engagement, Fundraising, Membership and Affirmative Action, and Special Projects. All Athens Democrats are invited to join a subcommittee. 

ACCDC Executive Committee

The ACCDC Executive Committee serves as the leadership for the Athens-Clarke County Democratic Committee. Here are the current Executive Committee Members:

Chair- Tim Denson

Secretary – Adam Shirley

Treasurer – Jim Taflinger

Vice Chair for Affirmative Action – Mary Bagby

Vice Chair for Candidate Development – Andrew Ferguson

Vice Chair for Communications – Jason Pratt

Vice Chair for Community Engagement – Julius Richie

Vice Chair for Fundraising – Spencer Frye

Vice Chair for Membership  – Tommy Dorsey

        Vice Chair for Platform  – Mokah Jasmine Johnson

Vice Chair for Special Projects – Russell Edwards

        Board of Elections Liaison – Rocky Raffle

Immediate Past Chair- Denise Ricks

Emeritus Past Chair- John Jeffreys


We will soon be developing our 2021 ACCDC Platform. Reach out to Platform Vice Chair Mokah Jasmine Johnson if you wish to serve on the Platform committee or offer input. You can currently view the 2018 ACCDC Platform here.